Thanksgiving

img_0980

img_0986
Fall hit hard in Alabama and really showed off for me It’s my understanding that this year’s color wasn’t as bold as it normally is (due to drought) but for this Texas girl, it sure was a treat. Real fall. 🙂
We had the chance to have more family come up and visit, and then we got to go over for 10 whole days back to Houston.
I had grand plans to take lots of pictures, but it just didn’t happen. I mean…I took lots of pictures but of other people’s families. lol

I’ve come to the conclusion that we will never feel that we have had enough time in Texas. Even if I had not worked, it would have felt short, or I would have wanted more. For anyone that knows me, I always have something going on. It’s just how I thrive and what I crave- relationships and people. It’s hard to get good, quality time with everyone when you live in a different state. We worked to focus on the kids, on honoring the commitments we did make, and on trying to just enjoy the time we had.
These are a few of the pictures we took while there 🙂 Some are with my camera and some with my phone.

While we drove home, I cried. A lot, actually. But as the terrain began to look more familiar, a sense of peace washed over me. It was the first time since moving here that I felt like “oh! we are close to home!”. I hesitate to even write that…but it’s true. We are building a home here and it’s starting to feel a little more like our space.
My heart longs for Texas but this finally feels good now too, and for that I am thankful.
img_8064

img_8051

img_8035

img_7974

img_8069

img_8071

img_8098

img_8124

img_8134

img_8149

img_0993

img_0996

img_1002

img_1005

img_1008

img_1010

img_1015

img_1018

img_1023

These photos are a special treat! My awesome friend Terri Lane took them and I am so grateful for the way she captured my babies. I have said this before, but I will say it again: all photographers should regularly have their families photographed. It helps with the process and you gain an appreciation for the craft of others. Thank you for doing such an amazing job- these images are priceless and I am so lucky to have them!!
561a0268

561a0264

561a0226

561a0289

561a0320

2 Replies to “Thanksgiving”

Leave a Reply

