Graduation

Excuse me while I blow the dust off this ole’ blog. My new years resolution of taking more pictures has happened…but on the business side. I have been so busy with work that I haven’t had any time to come over here and share my thoughts.
I have a lot to say, but I think I will focus on a certain little boy who started this whole thing.
Eli is turning 3 next month. Yeah, I know.
3 isn’t *that* old, but it feels like he’s been here forever with us always.
Eli is my old soul and his little world is about to get much bigger.

In Texas, children who participate in the ECI program “age-out” when they turn 3. They can either elect to go to private schools/therapists or go to the public school system.
We have decided to do a combination (thanks to a very generous Nona and Papa Red).

This morning we had a small, intimate celebration to mark Eli’s graduation from ECI. A few of the people who have become part of our family through ECI were able to make it. I think my heart exploded when our original speech therapist walked in- she has a special place in my heart and just seeing her reminded me that I won’t get to see her anymore. Let’s just say there were tears.
You let these people into your home and hearts. And if you are anything like me, you love them hard because they are busy loving your child. They are truly family and no words would ever be able to express how I feel about them or how thankful I am for their knowledge and expertise.

In the fall, Eli will be attending a local public school 2-3 days a week (we haven’t fully decided yet) and a private school 2 days a week. The reason for two different schools is that Eli will be in a full inclusion environment at the private school. IMG_0098

IMG_0105
It’s pretty obvious why we would want him to have an inclusion environment and as his mama it’s been so clear that he is ready. I almost feel like he’s missed out on some social opportunities because he has been home for 3 years.
But, we are in the middle of an a Newman revival and some good stuff is on the horizon.
We will also be going into private therapies to supplement what the school provides and what he has lost with ECI. (If you are at all interested in private, check out all your options and speak with your coordinator through ECI services. Medicaid, medicaid waiver and HIPP are all great resources to help therapies continue after birth-3 programs end). Part of me wonders if we will ever *not* need therapy for Eli. If he always needs it that’s fine, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t excited for a break over the summer. I just want to soak them up before I’m that carpool mom running my kids all over the city.

I’m pretty nervous about my first ARD meeting, which is happening next week. We decided to hire an advocate going into the meeting, instead of waiting to need one because there are problems. I’ve been so pleased with her help so far. As a former educator, ARD meetings and stuff like this become so much a part of your life and day that you don’t remember what it was like to have no clue what is going on. She keeps me logical and focused on the task instead of the emotional aspects (I’m on my own, there) and helps me understand what is actually going on.

So I think my next post will include info on ARD meetings- how to prepare and what to expect…which means it will be crazy and goofy since I have no idea what I am doing 😉

Anyway, just a short little blurb to say “I’m still here! “Eli is doing amazing!” “The Newmans are doing alright!” 😉

One Reply to “Graduation”

  1. Great news all around. I am SO happy you opted for inclusion. There’ll always be something to strive toward there. Also, life is inclusion. The world is inclusion. The future is inclusion. May as well get used to inclusion! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

