First Screening- PPCD

No pictures for this post. I haven’t had a chance to take any between posts and today has been all about running.

Eli had his first district screening today. It felt a bit overwhelming. I feel like if I had been in the position of the educator I would have been comfortable but as the parent I felt bewildered and unprepared.
Maybe it was nerves or maybe it’s just me trying to get my bearings on the situation.
I know we were covered in prayer but my heart was fluttering with doubt and fear.

They signed us in and we had a short wait. Which meant I spent that time chasing Eli as he happily explored the building and waved at everyone who would make eye contact with him.

They brought us into a classroom and after asking a few questions they presented Eli with a simple task.
She placed two blocks before him and ask him to pick the orange block.
This request was met with complete silence and a diverted gaze. Followed by a slight head tilt.
The team consisted of an ASL certified aid who translated Eli’s signs and signed to him as well.
She asked him a few times and signed the question. He finally responded.

The next color question, blocks went all over the floor and the “screening” was done.
The evaluator scored Eli as “failed” in all areas and said that as a formality the OT would visit with him.

We were then moved to the waiting area where Eli was happy to answer all my questions about animals and color and shapes. -_-
After a while we were brought to another room where the OT asked a few questions and tried to get Eli to stack blocks. Which got thrown on the floor.
After a few more times prompting, he began to ask for a book near where we were sitting. It’s a book we don’t have and he was excited to read it.
Each page had a picture of one animal or object and a matching sound button on a panel to the right.
Eli has never really connected the sound buttons with the images, instead just pressing the buttons randomly.
Today he signed animals and objects he saw and then pushed the corresponding button! I was so excited to see this click for him!

While we watched him give a small preview of what he is capable of, another child Eli’s age approached us. It’s always so hard to see a child Eli’s age (who’s being evaluated for the same program!) walk right over and start talking to him, only for him to shy away and not be able to respond. He’s still such a baby in so many ways.
It’s a reminder of where we still need to be for Eli to be as successful as he can.

The screening was short. They want all therapists to be at his evaluation in March.
That eval is supposed to last two hours and I pray that Eli will open up during that time and show them what he’s capable of. He’s so clever and resourceful. A 15/20 minute visit with him doesn’t show much especially when he’s so shy.

School is going to be a huge help for him in this respect. I’m hoping for more independence, maturity, better social skills and to coax my shy boy out of his shell a little bit.

I didn’t feel like the questions I have were going to be directed at the right people so I’m waiting until our evaluation….but I may contact the school directly or at least the therapist I know will be at his school.
Any questions you can think of?

I’m interested in what speech accommodations (besides the ASL aid) will be made for Eli that aren’t “therapy”. And some of my other questions are about therapies we don’t even know if he will qualify for or not.

And now for Medicaid and insurance therapy verifications…. Ugh!! So much to do in such a short amount of time.
Life is about to get crazy 😉

Thanks to everyone who has contacted us to send positive vibes and prayers. This next phase is huge.

Leave a Reply

