20 Week Update

photoHow far along? 20 weeks

How big is Wyatt? He is as big as a mango (6.5in, 10oz)

Health of Wyatt? Very good! He is way more active suddenly, with regular movements being felt.

Health of Momma? Good- stuffy nose and some numbness in my right arm when I sleep. Otherwise, feeling pretty good!

Symptoms: Normal pregnancy symptoms- hungry, tired, congestion

Weight gain? 15lbs

Maternity clothes update? Haven’t bought anything new thanks to Veronica! 🙂

Stretch Marks? None…yet

Skin? Just had a facial- skin has been pretty bad. Lots of bumps and blemishes.

Sleep? Frequent waking to roll over or re-adjust, but pretty good.

Best moment this week? Barry feeling Wyatt move for the first time! And getting to 20 weeks! Half way!

Labor signs? Nadda

Belly button in or out? Innie!

What I miss? I missed being pregnant, so I am loving this right now! 🙂

What I am looking forward to? Seeing Wyatt’s 4D ultrasound soon!

Weekly wisdom? Giving this one to God- I haven’t spent time worrying about Wyatt because he is already taken care of. Trusting the Lord to take care of him. Best feeling ever!

Milestones? More activity- very fun! We also learned today that I have an anterior placenta, which would explain why I felt movements later and they feel so soft. Compared to Eli, I was beginning to think Wyatt was just a lazy boy! lol Nope, just can’t feel him!

Fears? Not having a successful VBAC. Wyatt is breech already, so prayers that he will get in the right position!

________________________________________________________________________________________
I had a check up with Wyatt last week for AFP bloodwork, then our 20 week scan today. It was a bit different in that my anxiety was higher than it needed to be. Last time I was in Houston, I landed myself in the hospital. And the last time I was in Dr. C’s office for second trimester bloodwork, we found out that Eli might have Down syndrome.
Of course Eli’s diagnosis isn’t something we are sad about, or fearful of for the future…but I didn’t realize I was still so emotionally affected by that experience after such a long time.
The nurse was just going to have a listen to his heartbeat and then I would be on my way. But she couldn’t find the heartbeat, and Wyatt wasn’t moving consistently (last week) enough for me to be like “well, he’s in there!”. So there was a brief moment where I had to just breathe and not let my emotions get the best of me. She tried for 10 minutes to find the heartbeat, and when she couldn’t I had a quick scan. All is well. Bloodwork was a breeze.
But it still left me feeling emotional.
I rushed home as fast as I could, scooped up my son and snuggled with him on the couch. Gosh, I love that boy more than words. And I needed my anxiety to be relieved with the reality of how amazing our son and our life is.
I’m glad to be walking this path. Proud.
Reliving that anxiety allowed me to regain focus, breathe again and reminded me to be thankful for my amazing family.

6 Replies to “20 Week Update”

  1. So sweet, thanks for sharing. I’m from one of the Facebook WTE groups, I think I left the one your in. I started following your blog because I deeply admired how you reached out to a few ladies that had a Down’s syndrome positive. God bless.

  2. I’m so happy for you and Barry! Also glad the clothes are working out. I miss y’all so much and hope to see y’all soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

