Down syndrome awareness month!!!

First week of work has been hard but not as hard as when I had Eli. I’m physically tired, miss my kids but I cherish the time I do get and I love my job. My co workers have been so supportive and loving- makes it easy to come back. 🙂

Eli has struggled- refusing to eat and throwing tantrums. Not sure if some of it is teething, attention and me being gone but he’s being a toot. He’s been suddenly more gentle with Ruby and with his hair pulling. He wants more snuggles and this mama is loving it.

Ruby is happy as a clam. I just packed up her newborn clothing…yup. Little lady is packing on the lbs! She’s growing and doing awesome.

Our home study report came back and it looked good. It’s all very factual. Nothing to do with whether the home study investigator thought our home was fit or inappropriate. Which to me was interesting. It was basically just a list of references and a report on how our home looked and was kept.
Now I think we just wait for our lawyer to contact us.

Friends and family have been worried about all the stress and changed but I want everyone to know we are doing really well. Please continue to pray for us as we transition, for Barry’s job search and for the kiddos in this new season. Update over. Promise.

Now to get to the awesomest part of this post!!!!! It’s Down syndrome awareness month!!
I hope to post more later but I just wanted to take a moment to reflect:
Two years ago I didn’t even know October was anything special or would hold any significance in my life. I like Halloween and my aunt is a breast cancer survivor, but Down syndrome was not on my radar.
Down syndrome was something that scared me. Something that I never thought would be part of our family.
Eli has changed our whole perspective. He has changed our hearts and our family; for the better.
Down syndrome is nothing to fear. My son is a boy first- a very busy one at that. And the way he looks at and tackles this world pushes me to look for more hope and love than I ever thought my heart could hold before.
He’s amazing; his knowing and soulful smile, his almond shaped eyes with diamond flecks that grab you and hold your gaze showing you there is more behind those eyes than you can begin to define, his tiny body that can melts heavily into yours as you embrace. He’s perfect and this month we celebrate that. We celebrate differences. We embrace acceptance, love and possibilities.
Oh the places Eli will go!

Leave a Reply

