35 Weeks

It’s been a while since my last post, and I’m ok with that. I wouldn’t say that we have gone off the “grid” but we have been pulling back a bit (except for IG, which I don’t think I would ever get rid of lol).
Just been trying to enjoy time with Eli and prepare for Miss Ruby.

We enjoyed a trip to Alabama and then a shorter trip to Fort Worth. Now we feel like it’s time to focus on getting my lesson plans finished for my time out, get paperwork in order and prepare to hunker down for big changes ahead.
While on our trip to Fort Worth I discovered the fun of sympathy crying. Not for one second did I believe that having two children 16 months apart was going to be easy, but there are still many things I didn’t account for- like Eli deciding it’s a good time for him to cry when another baby cries.
Every time my friends’ children would cry, Eli’s lip would pout out and he would begin to echo their sadness. Or he would wake from a long over-due nap to add to the crying song. It was special. And something I had not even thought about happening.
He also wasn’t too keen on me holding another child while holding him. And suddenly became super clingy last night while visiting family.
Yup. This should be super awesome. 🙂 I’m joking…slightly concerned…but too excited and happy to let it worry me too much.

This past weekend we had our shower to celebrate Ruby. It was truly amazing. Eli’s shower was so full of love and support- everyone came out read to walk through Holland together with us. Our amazing friends and family came through again and proved just how lucky and blessed we are to have them all in our lives. Let’s just say I have a lot of thank you notes to write. A LOT.
I came home and set to work organizing her room and evaluating what we still need to purchase. I have so much more to do before she arrives, but I’ve been having so much fun preparing.

Ruby is doing well. She is on the small side, which is a concern for me because I worry about everything. The birth mother is about 35 weeks now and Ruby is around 4lb 13oz. Eli was born at 35 weeks weighing 2lbs more!
The doctors were concerned with two measurements- the head and tummy- which are the first two areas to show signs of stress on a baby. Her head is small, but brain is on target. Her tummy is 2 days behind which isn’t a super big deal. The main issues are making sure that the birth mother continues to take good care of herself, eat well and stay hydrated so Ruby can stay in as long as possible. There is a lot going into this particular situation- please cover it in prayer 🙂 Thank you!
Currently they have set her induction for August 4, but they are waiting for the strep B culture to come back before settling on this plan 100%.
They gave the birth mother a steroid shot to help mature her lungs just in case we do see an early delivery.
She is active, and has enough hair that it can be seen on ultrasound- eyelashes too!
Overall, Ruby is doing well and we are getting anxious to meet her.

We’ve gotten so close to our goal with paying for the lawyer fees and the extra stuff that comes along with adoption (Thanks guys- you are the best!!!). We have the paperwork from the lawyer ready to go, I am working on a bag for the hospital and we have been in talks with the hospital regarding our rooming situation. Feeling ready.

I’m feeling so many emotions right now and I feel like I have more to say, but for now I think this will be a good update.
I hope everyone is having an awesome summer and trying to stay cool!!
I will be posting pictures of the nursery soon. 🙂

3 Replies to “35 Weeks”

  1. you mean you were in my neck of the woods and didn’t stop to say “hello”? man, the nerve! LOL the crying when the baby cries is a tough one. you are lucky you won’t have the post-pregnancy hormones to add in to the mix. it took Rachel about 3 months to tolerate Charlie crying. even now if he cries too long she breaks down and loses it too. it’s awesome. Charlie and Rachel are 23 months apart (20.5 if you count the 10 weeks that she was early) and while the first year was tough, it’s gotten better. they are starting to be buddies and play together. sweetest thing ever.

Leave a Reply

