Eco Nuts Review

Since beginning to cloth diaper, I have entered into a whole community of CD lingo and knowledge. It’s a fun circle to be in. One of the highly debated topics among CD mama’s is how to clean your diapers.
Some say any Free and Clear detergent will work, others swear by their own homemade powders, while still others debate about specific ingedients such as borax.
For me, I began with All Free and Clear. It worked fine until I realized I was using way too much detergent and I was having to strip my diapers more often than is typical.
I then switched to Seventh Generation. It was better but I felt like I was still having build up issues despite using such a small amount of soap.
Next I tried Rocking Green. This soap is well known in the CD community. It’s eco friendly, smells nice and has done a good job of keeping my diapers clean.
The problem I find with RG is that it doesn’t seem to last near as long as it claims to, and is a bit pricey for how quickly it goes in my house.
Classic Rock is about $15 a bag not including shipping. It does around 52 loads, but on average has done about 35-40 in my house. I like the product and will likely continue to use it, but I stumbled upon soap nuts and haven’t really looked back since.

What is a Soap Nut?It is a berry that grows in the Himalayas that naturally produces a soap. The soap is called saponin, a natural cleaner that works as a surfactant, breaking the surface tension of the water to penetrate the fibers of your clothing, lifting stains from the fabric and leaving dirt suspended in the water that is rinsed away.
Eco Nuts are wild-harvested, meaning they are gathered from wild trees grown without any kind of chemicals, fertilizers, or pesticides. The saponin actually tastes bad to insects so no pesticides are needed, and the trees naturally love poor uncultivated soil. They are organically grown by mother earth and certified USDA Organic by Oregon Tilth. Our soap nuts are both de-seeded and sterilized for consumer protection – the only soap nuts on the market that are both!

How Do They Work?

My Review:
I purchased their large size box of Eco Nuts for $30- It does 360 loads!! (To get that many loads with Rocking Green I would need to spend at least $105- not including tax and based on their 52 load claim)
The box itself has a sour, earthy smell which was a bit offputting at first. But nuts themselves didn’t seem to smell and my laundry was fresh as well.
The box is small, taking up only a very small amount of space which was nice (my large 52 load All Free and Clear was HUGE and took up all the counter space!).

To test the nuts, I first washed a load like normal. So far so good. Then I washed a shirt that had some paint splatter from work- soap nuts got the stains out no problem!
The real test came with my diapers. They came out fresh, clean and free of build up. I’m totally sold.

One advantage to the size large box is that it comes with three bags for soap nuts. The first load I did I couldn’t find the little bag! I tried to dig through all my laundry so I could remove it before I put the clothing in the dryer, but I couldn’t find it at all. Digging through all those wet clothes was a pain and I didn’t want the nuts to get ruined in the dryer.
BUT- the nuts can go in the dryer just fine and still be used- up to 10 times! So I just tossed them in and got another bag out for my next load.

I would recommend this product to any eco–conscious mama, but especially those that cloth diaper. It’s a great product and I am excited to keep putting it to the test!

*I have not been compensated or paid in any way to write this review. I just enjoy reviewing awesome products that make my life easier 🙂

2 Replies to “Eco Nuts Review”

  1. Very cool! I have seen those but have yet to read a review on them before. I use Charlie’s Soap right now and really love it but am always up for trying new products.

Leave a Reply

