8 Months Old

20121228-133210.jpgToday our little man is 8 months old! i can hardly believe it!

Eli’s first Christmas was a success! We got to visit with family and enjoy quality time together. Eli really stocked up on big boy toys! We went from rings, rattles and teethers to little people, sit-to-stand and blocks. He also got a ton of clothes, which he really needed. 🙂
Isn’t family awesome?

Eli loved opening presents- his favorite part was eating the paper. Haha

After Christmas we continued to battle The Cold of 2012 (or The Hundred Day Cough). I wound up with a viral cough and sinus infection. Barry caught a head cold and Eli got my cough.
Eli seems to finally be getting better after starting antibiotics. Now we just need someone to come take care of Barry and I!
Being sick with a kid is the hardest thing. Ever.

In other news- the complaint I filed with ECI finally made it to Austin and I got a phone call about it today. Hopefully we can get someone to tell us what is going on and resume his services 😦
I already heard from someone at the office who was able to give me the name of our ST and said we would know who our new OT is by Wednesday. I’m not holding my breath but its progress for sure.

Speaking of OT, Eli has been rocking it despite the absence of services. He’s getting so strong and becoming more confident. He’s much more interested in being mobile and his upper arm strength is improving. He stands like a champ which is a surprise but so good at the same time!
He does his best work outside- he’s all boy 😉

We got his new hearing aids yesterday. That’s been an adjustment to be sure.
I have a love-hate relationship with them, but I knew I would before he got them. They aren’t as obvious as I thought they would be, (although they still have us stickers to decorate them in case we wanted to “jazz them up” lol) but I’m hoping at his next ENT check up in February, he will qualify for tubes and possibly not need them anymore.
The first time he had them in, his eyes were huge! The audiologist said we won’t notice a difference in his listening or speech for a few weeks but we have already noticed him listening more.

They are a bit of a pain, though. If he gets the aids too close to anything they will give feedback and start whistling in his ears. That’s next to impossible to prevent in a pre-mobile 8 month old! He leans on things, lays on things, falls over, touches them…heck, when I hold him on my hip they whistle. So I contacted the audiologist and we may be returning to have them adjusted.
As long as they don’t whistle, I think they will be a great thing for him.

It’s all a waiting game! But good progress none the less. 🙂

So I guess that is it!
This time last year we were waiting to hear if our unborn son would come to us with Ds. I was decorating a nursery and nesting like crazy. What a difference a year makes! I couldn’t imagine my life without this precious boy! Best Christmas gift of all 🙂

Hope everyone has an awesome new year! Can’t wait to see what 2013 brings us!

5 Replies to “8 Months Old”

  1. The first Christmas is always fun to see the little one’s reaction, especially to the whole gift opening thing. That pic of him holding himself up is impressive–he looks very strong. Glad to hear that you are progressing with demanding the services he needs/qualifies for. Sometimes they need a kick in the rear to get moving. I’ll continue to pray that Eli can get the ear tubes sooner than later! Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks girl! It definitely was a special one. 🙂 can’t wait to see his reaction next year! 🙂
      ECI shouldn’t be so hard but I’m willing to put in the extra time if needed. They know me well there. Lol
      Thanks for the prayers we appreciate that so much!

  2. Enjoyed reading about your journey this past year. I fought to get mine home by Christmas, and it is a full time nursing job right now. I pray that we make it thru all this unscathed. Knowing at fourteen weeks made for a very long year. The last three months have been tough. I am optimistic and faithful by nature, and she is already signing Mommy. I look forward to turning a corner. This beautiful little girl will need some friends once she’s ready to move! We look forward to meeting you and Eli when you aren’t sick!

Leave a Reply

