mmmmm….


Something else Eli’s been up to lately is talking! He’s a regular ole chatter box these days and we love it!
I remember when he was newborn- we kept waiting for him to smile, make good eye contact and coo. I would worry when he didn’t do them, but every time I worried he would start doing it. Lol
Now he feels so grown! My baby is getting bigger every day! He doesn’t even want to be cradled like a baby much anymore. *sigh*
Anyway, his babbling has turned into one word- “mom” or “momma”. 🙂 I haven’t caught him saying it on video yet but this is him trying to and coming very very close.
PROUD momma!!! 🙂

Milkies update: my supply is officially dropping. It’s very frustrating. Mainly because I know the decrease is directly related to the fact that Eli isn’t breastfeeding anymore and I’m not near him like I was before work started. Breaks my heart. 😦
4 months of dedication to pumping and breastfeeding and it’s only taken one week to see a significant decline. I went from 27-29oz a day to 22 and declining.

I can’t add anymore pumps to my day- 8 times throughout the work day and being awake from 5-10 with no naps is all I can handle. Fenugreek, water, vitamins, and food- all accounted for.
Next we are adding domperidone. If this doesn’t work then nothing will. We were going to try Reglan but the side effects were so scary sounding I just didn’t want to have anything to do with it. Domperidone is still an herb so while it is used for the same purpose, it acts differently than Reglan in your body. And it has less possible side effects than Reglan.
So that is where we stand right now. I really want this to work. I’m so proud of how far I’ve come and how hard I’ve worked regardless of the outcome, and at this point even if I make one bottle a day it’s still worth it.
And you know what else? TGIF!!!! I have the whole weekend coming up with my sweetness and I am so so happy! Have an awesome weekend! Thanks for reading!

6 Replies to “mmmmm….”

  1. You get what you get from pumping and f you stress you won’t get more so try to be thrilled with every ounce even if you want more! Focus on a sweet picture of him or if you can get him brought to you somehow (????!); otherwise just remember any you get helps and be glad but 8 times a day–that’s too much already! Good luck and have fun playing with him all weekend. 🙂

    1. I wish I could see him in the middle of the day but it’s too large a distance for that.
      I watch videos of him and look at pictures. And yeah, 8 times a day. That’s dedication!!! Lol 🙂

  2. My milk supply dropped about 2 weeks after returning to work too and a friend suggested Mother’s Milk Tea (2 bags a day). It seemed to work within a couple of days and now sometimes I’ll even wake up in the middle of the night having to pump because I am so uncomfortably full. I hope it turns around for you!

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! I actually have some but I literally can’t even swallow it. It takes like black licorice and I gag every time I put the cup to my lips! I’ve tried to sweeten and flavor it to mask the taste but no luck. 😦

  3. Hi Ashley! It’s Caryn. I understand completely what you’re going through, and I still am so proud of your dedication! Ethan was about 4 months old when I went back to work and my supply immediately dwindled. The schedule I had, with the lousy portable pump made breastfeeding nearly impossible, with the exception on the bed time feeding, which I cherished since we were apart all day. That only lasted about a month, when my supply was pretty much diminished. My mom told me it’s okay to switch to formula, and I really needed to hear that to avoid the guilt and relieve the pressure I felt. And everything worked out fine. 🙂 As you know, he’s now a strong, healthy rambunctious 7-yr-old! You’re doing the best you can and that’s what’s important. Don’t feel guilty if you can’t keep up with breastfeeding. You’re SUCH a good mom and Eli’s lucky to have you! 🙂

    1. Thanks girl. 🙂 I know you totally understand and it feels good to know not alone. I know Eli will be fine no matter what happens I just wanted it to work out so badly. Right now we are doing pretty well…so we will see what happens. I’m becoming more ok with the fact that I will likely lose my supply. So I will just keep trucking along until it goes away. 🙂
      You are so sweet- I’m blessed to have u has a friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

