Back to School

It’s been a while since my last post.
Don’t mind me, I’m just preparing to go back to school. Family is going to watch Eli while I work in my classroom and prepare lesson plans this week.
It’s going to be an interesting transition…for one, I’ve never left Eli with someone for more than a few hours. And trying to manage the beginning of the year bustle with a new baby seems a bit overwhelming! But I know it will calm down and we will settle into a routine.

Part of me is a bit stir-crazy from being at home these last 3.5 months. Not that I haven’t loved every second of my time with my son. Don’t get me wrong- its been the best summer of my life and it’s not going to be easy going back to work. It’s just that I’m a busy body. I hate sitting around and I’m very much looking forward to seeing my friends and kiddos again. But part of me does wish I could stay at home and capture every moment with Eli. Part of me is worried that he won’t get all the therapies we work so hard on at home. That whoever watches him wont place value on them or remember to do them or do it right.
I’m not going to lie- we have one spoiled little man. And while I know no one will ever do all that we do with him, it would be comforting to know that they understand the importance of the therapies and try to do some stuff. I dunno…I’m sure they will and he will be fine. It’s the place where you worry if you are doing enough. Always wanting to do enough.
I know we will settle into the perfect routine for us and that I’m still his mom. That he will benefit from time with other kids and family. That I won’t miss out on things like I think I will. And that ultimately I will be a better mom and more well rounded person for having a career and being a mom.
Perhaps there will come a day when I don’t want to work/don’t have to work but I think I’m coming to terms with my first day back…slowly.

So this is my last week to stay home and snuggle my sweetness. I’ve been cooking up lesson plans in my free time (ha!) and being lazy all day with my main squeeze. I think I had a lot more anxiety about starting work initially than I thought- it showed in my milk supply which plummeted last weekend. I panicked- is it my thyroid? My period returning? My hormones? Will I need to start supplementing? Certainly I’m not stressed or pregnant again! Haha
Not pregnant guys. That would be crazy. But seriously, I think the key was stress. Since then my supply has gone back to what it was and I’m feeling better about my job. I’m expecting this to happen again when I actually go back but at least I know what to expect.

Hmm…what else is new?
Still haven’t had OT come out to see Eli and no new progress on PT or ST. Guess I should get on that today.

I think that’s it for now. No more rambling. It’s 6am and time to get this day started! 🙂

Leave a Reply

