Cleaning Cloth

20120712-133540.jpg

More on cloth diapers? Sure!! 🙂
Have I mentioned how much I love cloth diapering?

It’s so much easier than I ever thought- but it was a bit confusing at first. I’ve already gone over brands I like and use. Now I will show you how I clean them.

Cloth diapers are so absorbent that they get detergent build up. This doesn’t seem like a big deal but it starts to stink after a while and prevents the diapers from absorbing like they should. Diapers come out of the dryer smelling so good and the second baby pees in it, it smells so so bad!
To help with this you can either strip your diapers or add extra rinse cycles to your cleaning routine. I do both periodically.

Cleaning:
Make sure all solids have been disposed of before washing.
I take all my diapers out of the wetbag and spray my favorite stain cleaner on the inside. I used to take the inserts out but now I just leave them in. They always come right out while washing.
Toss in the diapers and sprinkle on some baking soda and a cup of vinegar on a warm or cool wash rinse cycle. (Some people use borax as well- there is some debate about whether this is safe for baby and cloth diapers).
While the diapers are agitating I check for suds- if there are soap suds you will probably need a few more rinses or treat with more vinegar.

Next I add in my favorite detergent. I’m using Charlie’s Soap and All Free and Clear. Some mamas make their own- its up to you. No fabric softener!
Do a warm or hot rinse with detergent.

Finally, a cool rinse to finish them off (again, may need to repeat this step if you diapers were super sudsy).

You can either line dry your diapers (extra benefit of “sunning” the diapers to remove stains). Or tumble dry on low heat.

How often do I do this process? Every other day or so. What helps me to do this is a large stash of OS diapers, multiple wetbags and baking soda. 🙂
I have 2 large hanging wetbags and one smaller travel bag all with baking soda sprinkled inside them.
My stash consists of 37 diapers right now and he uses about 8 a day (changing about every 2 hours) depending on the day.

Why I cloth diaper:
-saves money (disposables cost an average of $3,000 a year: by 24 months, your baby has used an average of 6,000 disposable diapers!)
-saves environment, one disposable takes an estimated 500 years to decompose and should have all waste material remove before throwing it in the garbage…how many of us do that?
-Eli has the cutest booty of all his friends!
-helps with diaper rash and sensitive skin
-what about the water for washing? Uses about as much as regular laundry and toilet water from potty training your little! Not to mention they need less detergent to clean and the loads are small.

Tips: remember, no diaper rash cream in cloth diapers, no bleach, tumble dry low

Now I’m off to try my newest cloth diaper additions: bumGenius and Sun Baby. 🙂

20120712-142401.jpg

Leave a Reply

