Dedication and a Busy Week

Just finished at the doctor this morning. It was an attempt to figure out what’s going on with my wacky body.
After having blood draws, an exam and an ultrasound the only conclusion was an infection.
That’s good news I guess. No hormone issues and no birth control needed. I was concerned they might suggest birth control but my estrogen levels were low and FSH was high. Typical for a breast feeding mama and also a good preventer of pregnancy- thus no birth control needed (and no risk of drying up my supply until I’m ready). Hope these antibiotics are the answer.

We developed a plan for the building of our family and I feel good about the whole thing.
I left the office without making a follow up appointment. First time in 2 years I’ve done that. It felt so weird, but it was a good close to that chapter. 🙂

We opened a new chapter this weekend with the dedication of Eli. It was very emotional but so special.
Our church asks parents to dedicate their children by promising to be good Christian leaders. We were asked to write a prayer of blessing for Eli. It took me two hours and lots of tears but I did it.

Precious Eli,
We waited so long for God to bless us with a child.
Daily, we are humbled by the miracle we have been given in you.

When we decided on the name “Eli”, we joked that it stood for “Extra Light Inside”, not knowing how true that would be. God had a special plan for you and our family. It was scary at first but in just two months of life you have shown us how incredible our family journey will be.

Your name really means “Ascend my God” and this is our prayer of blessing over you: That you would come to know God and that you would bring glory to Him. That you would be able to use the unique gifts God has given you to bless others. And that your light would shine brightly, reflecting God’s love and grace.

As we dedicate you today, we pray for wisdom to be good parents and guidance as we trust God’s plans for the future.

He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it- Phil 1:6

Love,
Mommy and Daddy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Barry read the prayer. From the first word, his voice choked and his eyes watered. The words were so personal and our commitment to his future is so strong that I know reading the letter was difficult for him. But it came from the heart and when he was done, I don’t think there was a dry eye in the church.
It was a special service for us and I’m so glad we got to share it with our families.

What else is new? I tried to breastfeed Eli today for the first time in weeks. He did awesome. So awesome I thought we might be able to substitute some pumpings for actual feeds. I tried an actual feed about an hour later and he wouldn’t have any of it. Lol but it did renew my excitement for trying to breastfeed again.

What else is new? Ah tha vaccine debate continues. He’s suppose to go in for his shots this week. This is the third attempt. We will see if I don’t chicken out.
And his supplements came in the mail. Hoping to start them soon and see what we think.

Well, we have a busy week ahead! ECI, play date at the museum, dinner with some friends. Should be fun!!

Leave a Reply

