Milk Allergy? Plus PP Update

20120514-210931.jpgFirst of all I need to preface this entry by saying how much I hating pumping. Like hate. I’m dealing…
I know it’s best for Eli but its getting harder as I go on. Mainly because I’m still so tired and never seem to be able to catch up on my sleep. Duh- I have a newborn. I know. But still!! If he were breast feeding I could feed him and go back to sleep. But I’m pumping so I get up double the amount of times in the middle of the night. Pump, nap, feed, nap, pump…

My sweet husband does his best to help me and he’s amazing. I feel bad because he is working so hard to help and going to work. What will I do without him?! He’s just as tired as I am.

The worst is the night time pumpings. And if Eli has caught up to me it’s difficult too- he wakes up at the same time I need to pump. I can’t feed him and pump at the same time (one day this week I had him in my arms, my pump going, a bottle in his mouth and my cold lunch in my lap. Lol).

Anyway, all of this is to say I hate it but I can do it so I will continue. Seriously, though, when does it get easier? I make about 5oz less than what he needs everyday. We are close but just not there yet. ~deep breath~

Also, I got to thinking- how does my body know to increase my supply once Eli requires more than what I’m making (still not making quite enough) and the answer was: pump more often! UGH of course it is, why did I think there was some magical other way? My lactation consultant friend said to pump for 10min every hour to increase my supply.
*pout* so now I’m pumping in between my pumpings. Except at night cause that’s just crazy. Lol

/rant

Moving on…he still has a diaper rash. I switched to desitin and we wash his booty and let it air dry. I will see how it looks at the next diaper change.
It worries me because it may point to a milk allergy. Except that milk allergy symptoms are vague.

Here are eight signs, provided by Dr. Moissidis, to help parents of infants identify a potential milk allergy.

1. Diarrhea
Diarrhea is common in babies, but if it is persistent (an average of two to four times a day for more than five to seven days) and/or if there is blood in the stool, it could signal a more serious milk allergy.

2. Vomiting
Babies often spit up bits of food, but vomiting beyond the typical mealtime regurgitation should be examined by a doctor. Reflux symptoms, such as spit-up and difficulty swallowing, can also be milk allergy symptoms.

3. Skin Rash
There are many causes for infant skin rashes like eczema. Milk allergy is one possible cause, especially if the rash occurs along with some of these other symptoms.

4. Extreme Fussiness
Every baby cries, but crying continuously and inconsolably for long periods of time is abnormal. When there is no apparent reason, this is usually called colic. Sometimes this extreme fussiness is actually caused by the gastrointestinal pain resulting from an allergy to the proteins found in milk.

5. Low or No Weight Gain
Most infants double their weight by six months and triple it by 12 months. But when babies are not getting the nutrition they need because of excessive diarrhea and vomiting, they are unable to grow like they should.

6. Gassiness
All babies have gas, but when it occurs along with several of these other symptoms, it can also signal an allergy to milk proteins.

7. Respiratory Problems
Colds are common for infants, but wheezing, struggling to breathe and developing excess mucus in the nose and throat is not. For some kids, these respiratory problems can be the baby’s reaction to the protein found in milk.

8. Failure to Thrive
Babies with milk allergy often suffer from a lack of proper nutrition characterized by dehydration, loss of appetite and lack of energy. This overall failure to thrive is often the result of the effect of the other symptoms effect on the infant’s body.

See what I mean? Eli had a change in his stools, which made me think there was something wrong but apparently that’s normal too. He does get gassy but not all the time. He spits up occasionally but I think that’s more reflux than anything else and it doesn’t happen at every feeding. His nose is sniffy but the humidifier clears it right up. He’s gaining weight. Just has a persistent diaper rash. :/

Could it be the formula? Could it be something I ate? Who knows!? Lol what I do know is there is cheese and milk in everything!!

These are the things I think about at 2am while pumping.
So again, I know it’s what’s best and I am not stopping. But dangit! I’m tired and I don’t want my son’s hiney to hurt anymore.

{I just finished my first in between pumping and made more than I thought! That’s encouraging! I can do this!!! That’s what this summer is all about!} just keep pumping…just keep pumping…

In other news:
I had my pp check up today. I’m now allowed to drive just no heavy lifting or working out until 6-8weeks.
He peeled the dermabond off my incision (not the most pleasant experience) but it looks so good! Very thin and barely there. I’m impressed. 🙂

He also checked my thyroid and recommended continuing all my vitamins. My carpel tunnel should clear up at 6-8 weeks.

Then he brought up my placenta and uterus. Awesome conversation.
Placenta came back normal. Uterus had a lot of endometriosis. Add that to the list…
I had to google it to find out what the heck it is!
He thinks it played a part in our fertility issues. It was missed because HSG doesn’t pick it up (just shows the clear pathway through the lady parts), and my surgery to remove polyps back in June 2011 was not evasive enough to discover the endometriosis because it only looked on the inside.

All that to say, we have one more obstacle to overcome the next time we want to consider another baby. Dr. C felt it important to let me know that these next few months are the most critical if we would like to consider getting pregnant on our own.
What!? I know…
Basically since he cleaned everything out, my chances are higher that we will be successful on our own. Never thought I would hear those words. If we decide to wait, I will likely require laparoscopic surgery to remove the endo before trying again.

Huge. Like huge huge. So Barry and I have a lot to consider right now.
In the meantime, I have driving freedom between 1-2 hour pumping windows. Lol

We are crazy, right?

Anyway, I guess the c-section was good on multiple levels- got to experience some labor, kept Eli from getting tangled on the cord more, discovered endometriosis. Fun stuff.

So that’s my long update. I’m still hermitting for obvious reasons- need sleep, need to pump. But I’m feeling more confident, I’m still pumping and I’m loving my time with my sweet son. We took a walk yesterday, yay sunlight! He is precious and absolutely a blast!

10 Replies to “Milk Allergy? Plus PP Update”

  1. Holy bejeezus! Now that I got that off my chest…wow girl, you are getting it from all sides! Another baby? Now? Yeah, I know why and what he said is true (happened to me) but geeeeeeez.
    It will get easier though. Just hang in there. 😀

      1. My friend had endometriosis and she said that the lapo surgery was not that big of a deal and they got pregnant right after. The surgery is usually done outpatient and it will be way easier than the c-section. I wouldn’t let that pressure you or hurry you to have another one if you want the time to just enjoy this little guy and get a hold of the ropes as a new mommy! I am sure you are exhausted but it sounds like you are a great mommy!

      2. Thank you for saying that- makes me feel so so much better! I definitely felt a bit overwhelmed hearing that news yesterday. But it sounds like its not a huge deal so maybe it’s worth it.
        Barry and I still have a lot to discuss plus I am worn down and pumping, so I’m not exactly in a place to make a decision or be fertile. Lol
        We shall see! 🙂

      3. No, sorry. I have more of a horror story that I won’t tell you the horrible details of – a miscarriage at 21 weeks.
        But, I was pregnant again within 2 months thanks to my body being perfectly primed. And I had the most fantastic pregnancy AND even birthed that baby at home. 😀

      4. Oh gosh, I’m so very sorry. I have an angel baby myself and just went through a fiend loosing her pregnancy at 22 weeks. It’s so awful.

        But I’m glad that you were able to get pregnant again and have a home birth!! That’s incredible! I wish I could have had one but it was too much of a risk with Eli’s diagnosis.

  2. I’ll add in my two cents. Eli is beautiful. Your blog reads like my first few weeks home with my son did. Like you, I wanted to do the best I could to feed him myself, and my body didn’t cooperate. It’s awesome that you’re so determined to keep on pumping. No, it’s not fun. I hated it. For supply issues, I took a “More Milk” product from a company called Motherlove as recommended to me by the LC. It certainly helped – more than fenugreek, think. Several of my friends have resorted to renting a hospital grade Symphony pump – I don’t know if you’re using one already or if you’re using your own personal pump. Having used one myself, I can verify that the Symphony sucks more. 🙂

    As for the diaper rash – milk allergy, have you played around with play around with what you supplement with as well as with the kind of diaper? Not all diapers are created equal. I can personally vouch for the seventh generation disposables as well as cloth diapers for being kind to little hineys. And the milk allergy – if he’s not having bloody diarrhea, then don’t feel too guilty getting into the mac and cheese.

    It sounds like insult added to injury to hear about endometriosis during your post partum follow up. Worrying about future siblings is darn (stronger word preferred) is nearly impossible on as little sleep as you are getting right now. It took me 2 years after my c-section to start to consider the idea of inviting another little person into my body. So… wow.

    Congrats on your new found driving privileges. Much luck on getting out of the house in these early days. If you get a shower and the dishes get put in the sink and you get to eat lunch – then you’ve accomplished a lot.

    1. Sarah, loved your comment!! Hehe thanks!

      The endo sucks but I did talk to my PA about it today and it sounds like I may not have to hurry as quickly as my OB made it sound. Definitely not jumping to make babies right now. Hehe

      I bought 2 new diaper rash creams and cut out some dairy (it’s very hard!! Milk is in everything) in my diet. I successfully pumped every 2 hours today so we will see. I’m using a hospital pump I’ve rented and thanks for the suggestion on the supplement, I will look into that!

      I tried some new diapers today and I love seventh generation! We want to move to cloth diapers but he’s so tiny that my smalls don’t fit him yet! Lol but I think cloth would take care of that rash so fast!! Grow Eli!

      Thanks for checking us out and for your two cents!! 🙂

  3. I tried to nurse Gabe. He suckled well, but would not be able to get instant gratification. He was starving and it was just too much work with his heart and reflux. I pumped for 5 weeks and eventually dried out with stress. Lactation put me on Phenugreek, but I saw no improvement. Alyssa fell asleep everytime she tried to nurse. I would attempt to feed her, then give her a bottle, then pump…it was an hour long process. I pumped for 6 weeks (8 times/day). Eventually I had to cut down to 5x/day b/c I was losing my help during the day and couldn’t be attached to a machine with an infant and toddler. As soon as I cut down, I dried out. I do recommend the nursing camisole by Medela. Hands free pumping made it easier b/c I could type on my laptop, so pumping time became my blogging time and I hated it less. I really hated pumping. I wanted to nurse my babies so badly and I wanted to have that bonding experience and that ease that many mothers have. It just wasn’t in the cards for me. I gave them 5-6 weeks, so they got the colostrom and I have learned to be okay with that. A lactation doctor told me happy mom = happy baby, so just do the best you can b/c you have to take care of yourself too. I found that with both kids, we bonded more over skin to skin contact than the fight and struggle of nursing/pumping.
    As far as the milk allergy, Gabe had blood in his stool and Alyssa was really gassy. Both were suspected of heaving milk allergies, I tried modifying my diet, but then they told me to help with Alyssa’s gassiness, I should cut veggies too….what they heck do I eat then? Eventually we had to put Gabe on Alimentum and Alyssa on Similac Sensitive. Gabe now drinks milk all the time, so he out grew it as most babies do.

    1. Your story sounds so much like many of my friends breast feeding stories! And may be mine as well…8 weeks seems so long!!
      I’m very determined to try as long as I can since I have the whole summer off but like you said- being tied to the machine is no fun.

      I pump hands free so that helps but I’m now pumping about 11 times a day. 😦 so its pretty intense.

      Eli is gassy but no bloody stools so I’m trying not to worry about it too much. And he’s not gassy every time. We supplement with similac.

Leave a Reply

