36 Weeks

How far along? 36 weeks

How big is Eli? About the size of a watermelon, 19-22 inches and 6.5lbs <–all estimates.

Health of Eli? Still rolling and stretching and still breech. But he is doing very well and has been active!

Health of Momma? Very very tired. Symptoms: right pointer and middle finger *still* numb, hands hurt, wrists sore, lower back pain, swelling in legs, feet and hands, sore ribs, lack of sleep, clicking jaw, sore knees…same symptoms, different day.
PIH panel came back clean, so that is a huge relief. I just have bad swelling apparently.

Weight gain? 27lbs total- lost 2 lbs

Maternity clothes update? No updates here- Not buying anything else unless it’s a top that can be worn post pardum.

Stretch Marks? None…yet

Skin? Skin looks good- little break out on the chin but I won’t complain.

Sleep? I am averaging about 1-2 nights a week of good sleep. No combination of things allow me to repeat this- it’s just random.

Best moment this week? Finding my diaper bag and finishing up in my classroom.

Labor signs? Not a thing happening. Cervix is clamped down tight!

Belly button in or out? Belly button is definitely out!

What I miss? I alternate between missing my old body and missing sleep. I’m ready to at least be comfortable again. lol

What I am looking forward to? Again, my free time since my due date got moved up. More on that later…

Weekly wisdom? Knowledge is power. I’ve had to work hard to surround myself with like-minded and supportive people. Not only have had asked my doctor to walk me through everything step-by-step, but I’ve been leaning heavily on family and friends to walk me through this with confidence. I’m feeling stronger but not quite where I need to be yet…

Milestones? 17 days left until we get to meet our son!!!

Fears? Still terrified of the surgical birth process.
Here’s the scoop: I went in yesterday knowing that Eli is breech and that I would have to plan my “optional” surgical birth. Meaning, if he doesn’t flip, I have to have a back up plan.
Dr. M checked me anyway- Eli is still breech and my cervix is locked up tight. 😦
Next, I picked the other doctor on my team and then was put in with the scheduling nurse. Originally, Dr. M said that since my cervix is not showing any signs of labor, and Eli is still breech that we could do a c-section in 2 weeks. Meaning May 9.
Can anyone say hyperventilate? I freaked out a bit…

My sister is graduating from college 2 days after that date and the following day is a retirement party for a much beloved person on my team at work. I didn’t want to miss either of those, and I especially don’t want to make my sister’s day about Eli.
(Not that birthing can really be planned, but this kind of has to be considering…)
Dr. M was worried that if we go much further past that date that I would risk going into labor. So we had to look at the calendar again and know that any date that is picked could be subject to change.
Knowing that we selected May 14.
May 14!!!! That is 17 days away!!!!
Insert another mini-panic attack.

So I will continue to be checked weekly and as long as nothing changes, that is Eli’s birthday.
Can you believe it? I can’t! It’s a good thing I am taking my leave in just 5 days because I have a lot of work to do in the next few weeks.

I really can’t believe it!
MJ promised she would be at my bedside and Dr. C gave me a huge hug. I’m not completely content with the idea, but given that I have literally tried everythigng to move my stubborn little man, this is where we are at.
Maybe knowing that will help me relax more and he will flip? 😀

Today I meet with my long-term substitute to go over everything one last time. I have a few more things to get ironed out but we are rocking and rolling now.

2 friends of mine just had their babies yesterday. It was surreal to see pictures of their little ones. One in particular got me emotional- My friend Adrienne over at The Upside of Wes. Her son is absolutely precious and I can’t wait to experience the joy that I am sure she is bursting with!
It was another blessed reminder that my son is going to be just like every other baby. He is perfect, he is precious, he is beautiful.

Can’t wait to meet our little Eli!!

9 Replies to “36 Weeks”

  1. It’s all good! A plus of having a planned c-section (when you HAVE to have one anyway) is that you won’t go through the pain of labor like I’m sure you read about with Adrienne. I was actually surprised she didn’t get an epidural sooner, but hey, I’m not an MD…just a demanding bitch really. 😉
    I bet you’re looking forward to some rest and relaxation soon! Hang in there. Eli will be here in no time!

    1. I know! I was reading her description of labor and it doesn’t sound fun. So I guess if I have to have a c-section then I would be ok with missing that part of it. My mom jokingly said I should ask my OB for a refund on my lamaze classes. haha

      I’m not anti-meds at all, so if my pain was like what she described I would dfeinitely be demanding meds!! 😛

      So so ready for my leave. It’s bitter sweet and exciting/nerve-wracking at the same time. hehe

  2. He sure is stubborn! You never know, now that a date has actually been set he might just decide to flip on his own. Are the doctors willing to try anything to get him to flip ‘manually’?

    1. I am hoping!! 🙂
      No, my doctor doesn’t do external versions…so I’m just stuck. But I’m adjusting to the idea. It stinks but it’s ok. Healthy Eli is all I care about.

  3. Congratulations on your progress, you are almost done yayyyyy. It may seem like its been a while, but to me it looks like it was just a few weeks ago when you find out about your pregnancy. It is a blessing to read your posts, I enjoy it a lot. I wanted to wish you the best during your delivery! I cannot wait to see pictures of Eli… what a blessing!!! ~ Yanira

  4. Hi! I found your blog through IDSC on Facebook. I just wanted to wish you the best of luck during the last few weeks of your pregnancy and to reassure you of the amazing journey you are about to embark on. Its hard to believe it has been over 4 years since our son was prenatally diagnosed with Down syndrome and that Mason will be 4 years old in early June. We couldn’t love our little boy any more than we do and he inspires us every day to be more loving, more accepting, and more patient. We are a better family because of him. I will be following along for the birth announcement of your beautiful Eli! Congrats!!

    1. Thank you!! I’m so glad you found me- thanks for checking out my site!
      We are thrilled and nervous all at the same time- I think it’s mostly new parent fears hehe

      I love your site! Your family is precious!
      Can’t wait to share Eli with everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

