35 Weeks 1 Day

How far along? 35 weeks 1 day

How big is Eli? About the size of a large cantaloupe, 19-22 inches and 6lbs <–all estimates.

Health of Eli? Still rolling and stretching and still breech. But he is doing very well and has been active!

Health of Momma? Very very tired. Symptoms: right pointer and middle finger *still* numb, hands hurt, wrists sore, lower back pain, swelling in legs, feet and hands, sore ribs, lack of sleep…need I say more? But all soooo worth it! 🙂
Strep B test came back negative, so that’s good. Dr. C ran a PIH panel yesterday because he is concerned about my swelling, so waiting to hear about that.

Weight gain? 29lbs total

Maternity clothes update? NoFinally bought some nursing tops and some clothes for the hospital. Also got fitted for bras- apparently eben though I still fit in my regular 34B, I am a 34D in nursing bras. Yay for that? At least I know my size and I can go back to pick out a few when I am ready.

Stretch Marks? None…yet

Skin? Skin looks good!

Sleep? Sleep is not really happening. 😦 Awaiting my maternity leave so I can take glorious naps. It’s going to be awesome.

Best moment this week? Getting a few samples from my baby shower- I’m not a total heifer!!

Labor signs? Started to have some low cramps- apparently that qualifies as Braxton Hicks! It didn’t hurt or bother me, but it was kind of neat. Dr. C checked me- no physical signs of labor or even preparing for labor.

Belly button in or out? Belly button is definitely out!

What I miss? Sleeping. Solidly.

What I am looking forward to? Being able to have some free time to prepare for Eli and get the house ready.

Weekly wisdom? Be flexible: I walked into my doctor’s office yesterday not prepared to discuss birthing options. When Dr. C walked in and announced that I needed to go ahead and prepare for a c-section I freaked out. Bad. Like…I cried.
Which got him upset. Basically, he is going to give in and allow me not to schedule a c-section because it will keep me from crying, but in the next 2-3 weeks I will likely have to do that.
He is not confident that Eli will flip, or that any method of getting a baby to flip actually works. He suggested that I save my money and not waste it on a chiropractor.
That’s such a difficult thing to swallow because I trust my body and my son to do what they are supposed to. And people used to deliver breech all the time! It’s like a lost art that scares OB’s inter surgery instead. Anyway, he compromised and said he would do ultrasounds at every visit to check Eli’s position and if he hasn’t flipped by 37 or 38 weeks we will set up a c-section for my 39th week.

That’s also overwhelming. 39 weeks…that’s in 4 weeks.

So if you could please continue to pray that Eli flips…and if he doesn’t that I have the strength to face what is ahead. We don’t want a surgical birth but we want what is best at the same time. Eli does need to be born in a hospital so that he can get the attention that he needs. But surgery is anxiety producing.
And Lamaze class didn’t help- she walked us through the process last night. Apparently your arms and legs are strapped down to the table. Hyperventilation anyone?
Either way the result is the same- healthy baby. That is my mantra this week.

My lumpy view…he is facing inwards and will often push himself out against my stomach. Now if he would use that energy to flip, I would be happy!!

Milestones? Last month of pregnancy! 35/35– 35 weeks or 35 days left! 🙂

Fears? Huge huge fear of a surgical birth…

So that is all for now. Wrapping my mind around the possibility of surgery, really wanting to prove my doctor wrong, and trying EVERYTHING the internet and my friends suggest to get him turned. Next on the list? Some more moxa, acupuncture and a visit to the chiropractor and a massage. 🙂 If I don’t try literally everything I will never forgive myself. 😛

In the meantime, enjoy these pictures from my shower- a little sneak peek from my photographer and friend Laura Hollander

And this video of Eli getting the hiccups. So cute!!! 🙂

16 Replies to “35 Weeks 1 Day”

  1. It’s so awesome to be able to share videos and photos like you are here. Baby hiccups – love those!
    When you take your leave you can spend all day working on those flipper techniques if you want to.
    You are ALL baby! Great job not turning heifer! 😀

    1. haha right? This is such a fun time and I’m so excited to share it with everyone. 🙂 As for not turning into a heifer…well, the jury is still out but the pictures looked great lol

  2. you can see such a difference from the last bump pic! You’re looking great though!! I’ll continue to pray that he flips, I know how much you want a natural birth with no surgical intervention, so I pray that you get that.

  3. You know, my first was a crash cesarean. As in, I was put under general anesthesia and we had an 8 minute birth from the time we arrived at the hospital. It was terrifying. So for my second, I WAS going to have a VBAC. Period. All was good; I went into labor, got to the hospital, got checked in, and the little twirp wouldn’t tolerate labor. At all. So, I ended up with another cesarean. And you know what? It really wasn’t that big of a deal. Recovery isn’t exactly fun, and definitely takes more time, but frankly, when you’re looking at the new, little, tiny human you created, you really don’t care that you can’t move well for a few days. I have no idea what they did for the lower half (they probably did strap me to the table, but it was after the spinal, so it’s all the same to you!) and my arms were NOT strapped down. They did put a big balloon-ish thing over my chest and arms that blew warm air (which was really quite delightful) to keep me from getting too cold in the cold OR. But no straps.

    So, I don’t blame you for wanting a natural birth. I’m still envious that I’ll never get that opportunity. BUT, with that being said, I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter the way in which we bring a baby into the world- all that matters is that the little one gets here in safest way possible for both you and them.

    I just don’t want you to be scared of the c-section. I WAS, and it didn’t do any good! And really, truthfully, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had anticipated it would be. They say that you get amnesia from the pain of birth. I think it works for cesareans just like it does natural births. You’re too busy enjoying your new little life to be brought down! 🙂

    Sounds like everything else is going so well! I’m sure you’re getting excited and anxious to meet Eli. He’ll be here before you know it! 🙂

  4. Ashley, talk to my mom about c-sections. Thanks to me and Kyle, she never had the chance to deliver vaginally (I was breech and facing her spine? and Kyle’s labor started regressing and you can’t give pitocin to a woman who’s had a c-section).

    And you look so cute in that photo!

  5. I had my 36 week check-up today and my stubborn baby is still breech also. I’m going to try moxibustion hopefully tomorrow or this weekend if I can get an appointment. Did you try it already? How did it go? Next week I’ll be at the hospital to try the versions. I am right there with you in wanting a natural birth and freaked out by the thought of c-section. Still praying that both of our babies turn head down!!!

    1. Thanks for your prayers! I was thinking about you yesterday, so thanks for the update.
      Yes, I have been doing moxa sticks with no effect. It just smells bad. lol
      It does get Eli jumping and moving around but no change in position.

      Are you going to try an external version? If you do let me know how that goes…I spoke to my lamaze instructor about it on Tuesday evening and she said she’s only seen it done twice with success. Both times were done at the end of the pregnancy and resulted in a baby that day as it was too risky to leave the baby in with the chance it would flip again. Both had medical intervention, one wound up being a c-section anyhow. :/
      So I don’t know how I feel about it…I have an appointment with my chiropractor this evening for an adjustment. Can’t decide if this is a good idea or not.

      Let me know how it goes!! Prayin!! 🙂

      1. I had the versions done today at the hospital. I had heard they are very uncomfortable and that is a big understatement! They are PAINFUL. I had 2 ob/gyns pushing the head and pulling the butt and it felt like they were digging into my organs. The one doc said they would give it 3 tries or less if I could not tolerate the pain. Well, we ended up finding success on the fourth try. I am so glad they went for the extra one because I could not imagine going through all of that for nothing. Thank you for the prayers and please pray that the baby will not flip back. My next prenatal appt. is Wed. so I will see if baby is still head down then. When is your next check-up? Praying Eli gets his head down soon!

      2. Oh I’m so so glad it went well!! I can imagine it is pretty painful- I’ve heard of many doctors only doing it if the patient has an epidural.
        I will continue to pray that your little one stays in the right position! 🙂

  6. You look radiant and gorgeous in your pictures! 🙂 Dress looks great too…I remember when you were trying it on and texting pics of it! 🙂

    Keeping you all in my prayers!

    1. You are so sweet. Dress looks better when photographed with a professional instead of a camera phone, huh?! 😉
      Now if I could just return to that…the puffiness is out of control!

  7. Hey, you are looking adorable! I know the last few weeks are uncomfortable, but your belly is still cute. I’m sorry you have to stress about the surgical possibility, I hope he does flip for you, come on little man. I’ve been thinking about you lately, so excited for you guys. Hang in there 🙂

Leave a Reply

