World Down Syndrome Awareness Day! {3/21}


Wore this yesterday in honor of World Down Syndrome Awareness Day!! 🙂

I made a badge that I wore pinned to my shirt as well. Had a lot of my kiddos ask about it. Which got me thinking about how to tell my kiddos…or other people for that matter!

Do you talk about the diagnosis or just treat him like everyone else until someone mentions it?

When I told the kids why I was wearing the badge they were just like, “ok”. lol
Seems so simple and yet scary to talk about at the same time.

Thank goodness for my kiddos and their huge hearts! They don’t see differences, they just love. 🙂

2 Replies to “World Down Syndrome Awareness Day! {3/21}”

  1. Hey Ashley,

    I just wanted to applaud you for having the strength to embrace Eli now and to acknowledge his diagnosis and for taking this time to prepare yourself for his arrival.

    We did get the heads up that our Jett may have DS (1 in 27 chance), but we just hoped he didn’t have it and went on about our lives. I didn’t have the emotional strength to accept the diagnosis and to prepare like you did.

    It’s so nice that you have this time to get everything ready for him. I can’t wait to see him! And I can’t wait to see the joy he brings to your lives!

    Eli picked some great parents for himself. Best wishes on your journey and let me know if I can help you in any way. It’s impossible to prepare for every situation and I’m sure you’ll have many questions so please know that I’m just an email or phone call away!

    Andi Durkin
    dsdaytoday.blogspot.com

    1. Wow!! I’m super excited that you found my humble little blog! I absolutely love your blog! You have so much information and I refer to it all the time- thank you for so openly sharing your story and for posting so much information. 🙂
      That being said, I think it is a blessing to have this time but too much time can also leave me to doubt and wonder. So it’s nice to have blogs like yours to see the real progress of real families!
      I can’t wait to share Eli with everyone. 🙂

      Thanks again for reaching out to me- it means so much!
      -Ashley

Leave a Reply

