31 Weeks

How far along? 31 weeks

How big is Eli? About the size of a head of lettuce- 19 inches and 3.9lbs

Health of Eli? Doing really well! {Moving and grooving!}

Health of Momma? Ok, so most of spring break I enjoyed being lazy and resting. It was so nice. Then on Saturday we went to the Rodeo and I wound up in pain. Apparently I am either way out of shape or I am suffering from some of the pregnancy symptoms my books talk about but I assume won’t happen to me.
We walked a fair distance in a short time- by the end I was out of breath, swollen, and sore all over. And now that I am back to work…yeah…Seriously wondering when it’s acceptable to take maternity leave…my everything hurts!
Besides that I feel really good, honestly!! Lol
At my appointment today, Dr. C said this pregnancy is perfect, everything measures perfect and that I looked perfect. So yay!!

Weight gain? 24lbs total- I know my last update said 27lbs, but I just weighed myself for the first time at home and I believe this is a more accurate total. The OB always makes me weigh more! lol But seriously, I know what I started out with at home, so an evening measurement on the same scale has got to be accurate. (My nurse agreed with me today!! Hehe)
My other weight updates were guesses based on what the OB was telling me…

Maternity clothes update? Dresses are more comfortable than anything in the world. Which means I have to shave more often. It’s a trade off.

Stretch Marks? None…yet

Skin? Skin looks good! I’m starting to worry about what will happen to it post-delivery.

Sleep? Sleeping a bit better. I think I am getting used to rolling over and the weight of bebe.

Best moment this week? Finding a glider for the nursery for cheap!!

Labor signs? No labor signs

Belly button in or out? Belly button officially pokes out but it’s not terrible. Grosses my mom out, though. hehe

What I miss? Being able to stand/walk/anything without being in pain or getting short of breath.

What I am looking forward to? My birthday and baby shower!

Weekly wisdom? Working on taking it easier…I’ve never been out of breath like that before and it was a bit concerning. I know its a pregnancy thing, but it was upsetting to know that I couldn’t even walk somewhere comfortably. So this week I will be focused on getting things in order in my class room for my maternity leave and not pushing myself so hard. Totally not worth it.

Milestones? I would say that 31 weeks is a good milestone to reach!! And with no labor signs too!

Fears? Still worried about birthing. I really think it would be great if they just magically handed me a baby right after the stork pays a visit.

A HUGE worry right now besides that is that Eli is still breech. 2 weeks ago Dr. C didn’t seem worried about it but today he mentioned it was problematic. Ya think? He said that if he doesn’t turn by 36 weeks that they will likely schedule me for a c-section. 😦 wow…that seemed so final! So please please please pray that our stubborn nugget turns!! I’m going to try using the inversion method and see if he turns on his own. You can do it little dude!!

One final thought- been thinking a lot about the link between MTHFR and Ds. If you have been following me at all, you will know that our first pregnancy ended due to my MTHFR diagnosis. A friend pointed out the possible link of MTHFR and Ds and it’s a real concern for my future pregnancies. I found this article particularly helpful (Ds and MTHFR). And these as well:
Hole in the Bucket
Einstein Syndrome
River Bend Ds
I also spoke with my genetic counselor and she pointed out what my research has revealed: the MTHFR that I have is not the one they believe to be linked with Ds nor does it change my ratios regarding future pregnancy outcomes.

(Her response: Mrs. Newman,
Most of the studies looking for an association between MTHFR and Down syndrome looked at the C677T variant. From what I can see there hasn’t been an association found between the A1298C variant and Down syndrome. For the C677T variant a couple studies seemed to indicated it was more frequently found in mothers of children with Down syndrome but other studies failed to find any association. Based on the information we currently have I would not expect your status to change your risk for a future pregnancy or be a reason for your son having Down syndrome.)

Just found it all very interesting. So much we just don’t know about fertility.

So I guess that’s the update for this week!! I’m excited about tomorrow because it’s down syndrome awareness day!! I’m going to wear blue and yellow to acknowledge it. 🙂
Also, I connected with even more people on Facebook through IDSC. Perhaps I will be seeing some more visitors at my blog soon as a result. So if you’re new here, welcome to our wonderful journey! It’s amazing and I hope that my journey can help you along yours!
Happy happy Tuesday my friends!

{did I mention that you should go pray for Eli to flip now? yes please!!}

6 Replies to “31 Weeks”

  1. I came by from the IDSC facebook page. Your blog is so cute, I love the picture on your header. I hope Eli gets the memo and straightens himself out! It’s amazing how our bodies and babies so often naturally figure things out on their own. Happy World Down syndrome Day!

  2. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

