29w 6d


I feel as if my entire spring break was circling around today! lol Now the rest of these doctors appointments and meetings will be a breeze!
Today we saw Dr. R and he was quick but effective. I didn’t have much time to ask him questions and he was attempting to end the ultrasound when I asked if he could take a look at Eli’s face in 4D. He hesitated a bit but agreed. Eli is breech, facing inwards and has his hands covering his face, so he definitely made Dr. R work for those pictures. BUT he did get some pretty good shots despite Eli being difficult. hehe We even caught him smiling!!
Barry was there today, so he was able to get video, which I think gives a much better “whole picture” than just a single image.
Latest? Eli is in the 51st percentile and weighed in at 3lbs 3oz! He measured at about 29w 5d, so a day behind but that isn’t abnormal for any baby. He was quite wiggly and it made me feel like I had an alien that was ready to burst from my tummy at any minute! (It’s not often that I am laying completely flat on my back staring at my bare belly. Quite an awesome site- his entire head and body stuck out as if my skin had been laid on top of him like a blanket.) Actually, the more I think about it, the more active it seems he has been. Probably has a lot to do with the fact that I am not working so I have time to feel his little movements.
Anyway, it was neat to share the entire experience with Barry and my family. And since Dr. R seemed so busy, I didn’t get to pester him about muscle tone questions and visible down syndrome markers. It’s a good thing, I know. I simply got to enjoy looking at his precious face!

Afterwards, we went to the MFAH to see the King Tut exhibit and then spent the afternoon with my family. My sister is studying for the MCAT’s, so between her and myself there was a lot of test and baby discussion (She drops some super smart-sounding medical terminology, I comment about how much my belly has grown! lol it works for us). My mom surprised us today- she bought the family bassinet for our bedroom! It’s so beautiful and classic! I can’t wait to see babies being placed in there! ❤

God, You are so awesome and I am blown away by this life you have created! I am amazed that a human being is being knit together inside of me. Continue to to grow little Eli! Thank you for trusting us with this precious life. Thank you for a glimpse at his beautiful face today- we cannot wait to hold him and kiss him all over. What a gift! -Amen!

EDIT: A special thanks to Laura Hollander for taking our maternity pictures! She shared a sneak peek (the new picture in the upper right-hand-corner) and I am anxiously awaiting to view the rest!!! 😀 Happy, Ashley!!!

4 Replies to “29w 6d”

  1. Wow…reading this post back a flood of memories. Beau came at 29 weeks 6/7 days and weighed in at 3 lbs 3 oz. pretty crazy you are exactly where I was almost 3 years ago! I’m so glad everything is going so well and your sounding more at ease. I think of you daily and can’t wait to meet your miracle!!

    1. wow! That is pretty incredible! Such a tiny little man, huh? 😉
      Thanks so much for thinking of us! I think as the date gets closer, I am getting more and more excited to hold him instead of worrying about the rest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

