Letter to Family

Dear Family/Friends,

As many of you know, my husband and I are expecting our first child in May! 🙂
We have learned that we will be having a boy and we are so excited about this new addition to our family! It’s been a difficult road to getting pregnant and after fertility treatments and one cycle of IVF, he is certainly a miracle!

We have recently learned that our precious baby has Down Syndrome. We learned the results through a genetic test called an amniocentesis, which is virtually 100% accurate.
While it seems that he has no physical health issues as if right now, our doctors will be monitoring him carefully.

Of course this news has left us anxious, upset and shocked. We are still adjusting. If you see me, I may be showing signs of shock, but I have learned from other parents that we will move away from this time of turmoil to a place of excitement and amazement. One thing we know for sure: we love our son and we hope you will join us in welcoming him.

I know that you must have many questions, and I will try my best to answer, but we have a lot to learn in the next few months about Down Syndrome. I have already started to research! Some of the most important things we have learned are that each person with Down Syndrome is a unique individual, and that recent advances in medicine, education, and acceptance have greatly improved the lives of people with Down Syndrome. More importantly, we have learned that our son will live a rich and rewarding life, and will enrich ours as well.

I know many of you may not know what to say to me when you see me — I understand. I’m not sure I would have known what to say either. I would appreciate if you could avoid saying, “I’m sorry.” Instead, if you could pray that he continues to be healthy and that the remainder of this pregnancy is uneventful. 🙂

I will keep you updated about any issues that come up and when our baby arrives. Thank you so much for your support and for welcoming our little one.

-Barry and Ashley

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
Psalm 139: 13-14

4 Replies to “Letter to Family”

  1. What a wonderfully informative letter to family! I like that you told them right off not to tell you “I’m sorry.” It’s so hard to hear that over and over!

    I think right now you’ll have a lot of roller coaster emotions and fears because that’s really all you have right now – is a diagnosis. You don’t have your sweet little baby boy to hold in your arms and see him as this little person, if that makes sense. It changes once you can finally hold him and love on him. Kayla is 8 and I do still wonder and worry about her future… just like I will probably still do with my typical son as well, just in a different way. It’s hard to worry about the future though when there is only so much we can do about it. Just plan the best we can and raise our children the best we can and pray that everything works out in the end 🙂

    1. Thank you! The letter is from the free down load for down syndrome pregnancy- it was very helpful.

      That is what people keep saying- that it will be easier when he gets here and not to fret too much over the future, but I guess that is the hard part- I have four and a half months until I can hold him. That’s a long time to spend thinking and worrying about him.

Leave a Reply

