Post Surgery

I so did not think I would be sitting here ready to blog only a few hours after having surgery! Please believe me when I say I am not a blog freak so much that I am making myself do this.
I came home from my surgery, ate and forced myself to sleep…which lasted all of 2 hours because my body said it’s time to wake up! I don’t feel any real physical pain, and I am moving around really well. 🙂
I want to say a HUGE thank you to all my friends and family. Just WOW! I felt so covered in prayer and so loved today. My friend Erin even sent me some beautiful flowers! Everyone has been so thoughtful and helpful. 🙂 I am very blessed!!

Here’s the scoop:
I did so amazing with the IV, you guys would be impressed! 🙂 I only sweat a little bit from anxiety (we had a very long wait due to an overbooked OR) and once we had been left to wait, IV hooked up and all, for 90 minutes, I had no choice but to give up my anxiety. It was pretty easy, though…I felt so covered in prayer and peace.
I was scared of the “go to sleep” meds because they usually burn, but they gave me antibiotics first and that actually burned. 😦
They wheeled me down to the OR as they were giving me the antibiotics. Once the burning went away, they had me move to the opertaing table, and then put the clear mask over my face. They were still talking to me and each other…I breathed in twice and was waking up in the recovery room.
The recovery was much faster and easier than any that I have had before. Dr. H said it was a “light sleep” lol…I didn’t feel like I had been hit by a bus when I woke up. Just a bit “out of it” and like my mouth was too big or something. This faded very quickly.
Dr. H said everything went excellent! He preformed a D&C and a hysteroscopy/polypectomy. There were actually 6 polyps in there!! I could hardly believe and I am still in shock! But he reassured me that the issue was now taken care of and that we could move forward. These polyps were a definite issue and might have prevented my IUI from even working, but were most definitely the source of my mid-cycle spotting and a huge hinderance going into IVF.
It actually made me feel better to know that there were 6, as crazy as that sounds.
But I was starting to wonder how 1 small, 7mm polyp could be causing so many issues. It made me think there had to be something else wrong with me. I am so glad we did this!

The staff was so sweet and amazing. My pre-op nurse was very understanding and super gentle. She made the IV a much more pleasant experience. While waiting for my surgery, we spent a lot of time talking about TTC, since her and her husband just started 2 months ago. She is terrified that they will have issues since she works in an environment where she sees it all the time. She was so sweet and I can tell she wants this. 🙂 I’m sure she will get what she wants, because Dr. C is her doctor too lol
My anesthesiologist has been through IVF, one cycle, 5 day transfer and got twins! They are now 2 years old. It was super encouraging to hear her story. 🙂
It still makes me wonder about the 5 day versus the 3 day…but I need to just trust Dr. H (who was amazing as usual!!)

Anyway, I go back to visit Dr. H on Wednesday for my post-op and IVF consult. It looks as if we have everything in order and will likely be starting IVF meds VERY soon. I can hardly contain my excitement! 🙂 All of the tears and the frustration have led me to this point and I am happy to finally be here. He was very optimistic and ready to go. Post-surgery, I am feeling so much more confident and ready to move forward. I can’t even describe it. Thank you, Lord, for giving me the strength and restoring my faith in this situation!
We will know more on Wednesday about our time line and what is next. Until then, complete pelvic rest, no lifting (including vacuuming!!) and rest rest rest.

In other news, we got some of Barry’s labs back from the urologist yesterday. They showed low testosterone levels but everything else looked great. Poor guy…he didn’t even blink an eye at it. It was just like, “add it to the list”. 😦 Anyway, his urologist wants to do a chormosomal sperm test, but Dr. H does not feel this is necessary. It is expensive and we are doing IVF anyway…he doesn’t think we have a chormosomal issue.
He also did not want to touch the testosterone issue until after we have a successful pregnancy. It could change/mess with different levels we don’t want it to. Everything else on Barry looks good.
Low testosterone can be associated with sperm issues like ours, but is definitely a “quality of life” issue for a man in the long run. It can be linked to depression, low sexual interest/desire and low self-esteem. Non-perscription treatments include added zinc (already doing) and horny goat weed (already doing). So until we get the BFP, no testosterone treatment. Barry doesn’t seem worried, which is good and I am feeling so optimistic right now, I’m just going to roll with it and see what happens.

I met with an old friend yesterday from HS. I haven’t seen her in nearly 10 years! It was so funny to sit and giggle about how we used to be and how much we have changed.
It really made me think about where we are in life right now. I never imagined it in a million years! But here we are…and who knows what’s next? My life is changing so fast and I know in just 5 months I will be in a TOTALLY different place in my life. It’s crazy. But I can’t wait to put some of this stuff behind me and look back one day to see how strong it made me. 🙂
Ok, I am going to rest for a bit and maybe watch a movie. It’s not everyday I get to steal my hubby and have him home with me all day long. I need to take advantage of it! Thank you again, everyone! More good news to come, I’m sure of it 😉

Nifty info: Polyps

2 Replies to “Post Surgery”

  1. glad everything went well and that you are feeling good. so with all of those polyps having been removed is it possible that you wouldnt have to go through IVF and get pregnant naturally? you got pregnant before. just curious.

    who did you meet with yesterday?

    1. Thanks girl! 🙂
      I’m still in shock that there were six! Anyway, there is a slim chance that I could get pg on my own at this point, but with all of Barry’s issues, this is our best option. If we were to do all natural or even IUI’s again, it would be a slow process, allowing for more polyps to possibly form (can happen, no way of knowing) This is the fastest and best way.
      Met with Dr. Heard and Dr. Cook yesterday. Both were very encouraging and excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

