hysteroscopy

Hysteroscopy is a minor surgical procedure utilizing a thin fiberoptic tube or hysteroscope to see the inside of the uterus (endometrial cavity). Hysteroscopy allows the doctor to diagnose and treat a variety of uterine abnormalities which may cause infertility, recurrent miscarriages, abnormal bleeding and pain.
A speculum will be inserted into the vagina so your doctor can see the cervix. The vagina is cleaned with a special antiseptic solution and the hysteroscope is gently inserted through the cervix and advanced into the uterus. A liquid will be injected through the hysteroscope into your uterus to help your doctor see the uterine cavity clearly. A camera attached to the hysteroscope will project a magnified view of the uterine cavity on a video monitor. Your doctor will be able to see if there is any abnormality in the uterine cavity and to look at the opening of the tubes. The hysteroscopy takes only 10-15 minutes to complete unless other procedures are planned to remove fibroids, polyps , uterine adhesions or unblock your tubes.

Source: http://www.bocafertility.com/hysteroscopy.aspx

2 Replies to “hysteroscopy”

  1. That’s so weird and cool at the same time!!! I am glad that you are feeling better today. I had a lot of fun last night, except that I think that I had TOO much wine, lol I thought I was going to a be sick. Anyways, I know good things are in store for you, and i am constantly praying for you! I love you!!

    1. It’s it crazy what they can do now? Apparently this procedure is mandatory for IVF too, so looks like it’s in my very near future.
      I had a blast too 🙂 The wine was good and strong 😉
      I am feeling better each day, thanks for being such an awesome friend!!! I know we will get through this and all will have a family.

Leave a Reply

