April 16, 2011

Thursday I had a sore throat and by Friday I had strep. lol again. 4 times this school year total!! I guess that is the way it goes when you are a first year teacher! I have worked really hard to keep my room clean, wash my hands and disinfect, but there is only so much a person can do. I’ve had it 4 times this year and my doctor is suggesting I have my tonsils removed. I need to do that and have 2 tiny cavities filled. But I’ve been waiting because I am hoping to get pregnant first. Surgey and pregnancy/TTC don’t mix well. So Friday morning I was up at 3am because my throat was swollen shut. No fever or anything. My throat just felt sour and burned like I had swallowed knives. I had to get a sub and then I went to the doctor. That was an experience!!! I was there for 90 minutes total and I had to wait forever for the doctor to see me. Once he did, he immediately suggested I have my tonsils removed and then asked if I had heard of Guardasil. I said yes, but at the time I was so sickly I didn’t really know what it was. He explained it was the vaccine for HPV and that I was at the cusp of the age group who is allowed to take it. I told him that my husband and I were in the middle of TTC, so I would discuss it with my OB. Then he said something to the effect of: "Well, I won’t loose any sleep over it if you don’t get it. I’m just making a suggestion. I’m sure you are in a happy, monogomous relationship, and not to be rude, but you have a 50% chance of your marriage working out. If there were a vaccine for HIV you would probably take it…this is the same thing. It just protects you in case things change". OMG Did he really just say that? 
Next came the penicilin shot, which I ultimately had a bad reaction to. Stinging, pinching sensation in my butt/leg, dizziness, lightheadedness, seeing white spots, sick to stomach. I blew out of that office so fast…I just needed to lay down and sleep it off. After a few hours I felt better and even more angry about what the doctor had said. I was especially angry that I didn’t even feel well enough to say something. 😦 
He never gave me his name, nor did he have on a name tag, but I’m going to call back up there Monday and complain. Completely disrespectful and inappropriate.

So after that, I basically slept all day yesterday and some today. I had to get up and shower though because I felt so nasty.
It’s such a beautiful day outside too!! So maybe I will go sit out on the deck and get some sun. That will make me feel better.

Doctor and my OB said penicilin was the way to go and it was safe for TTC. So that is good news.
This is for my notes, skip down if it’s TMI: Today I had some yellowish/pinkish discharge, which is unusual for this early in my cycle. I need to keep an eye on it. May be due to my stopping my thyroid meds, or my penicilin shot from yesterday. Started my ovulation tracker 2 days ago, so yay for that! 

Other than that, it is such a wonderful weekend, I wish I felt well enough to get out and enjoy it! We are supposed to have dinner with a friend tonight, which I may still do depending on how I feel. Tomorrow is our last day at FBCTW, and then we have a short week because of Easter. 🙂 Hope everyone is having an awesome weekend!! 

Leave a Reply

